College Opportunity Fund

The College Opportunity Fund (COF)New window icon, created by the Colorado Legislature, provides a stipendPDF icon to eligible undergraduate students. Eligible undergraduate students must apply, be admitted and enroll at a participating Colorado institution. Both new and continuing students are eligible for the stipend. Students who do not apply will be responsible for the full amount of in-state tuition (student share plus the state's share).

Qualifying students may use the stipend for eligible undergraduate classes. The stipend is paid on a per credit hour basis to the institution at which the student is enrolled. For the 2016-2017 school year, the tuition stipend equals $75 per credit hour for students attending a participating Colorado public college or university. For example, if a student takes 15 credit hours per semester, that student will receive a stipend in the amount of $2,250 for the year (30 credit hours). Students that attend a Colorado participating private university receive half the amount per credit hour in stipend funding ($38.00 per credit hour for the 2016-2017 school year). The amount of per credit hour funding is set annually by the Colorado legislature.

Each eligible undergraduate student can receive stipend funding for up to 145 credit hours. Certain exceptions may be made to the credit hour limit if a waiverNew window icon is granted.

Eligibility Requirements

If you attend a participating Colorado public college or universityNew window icon:
  • There are no income qualifications
  • You do not have to be a full-time student
  • You must be classified as an in-state student for tuition (as determined by the college; if you are a student without documentation, visit CICColoradoASSET.org to see if you may be eligible for the COF)
  • You must be an undergraduate student
If you attend a participating Colorado private universityNew window icon
  • You must be classified as an in-state student for tuition (as determined by the college)
  • You do not have to be a full-time student
  • You must have graduated from a high school in the state of Colorado, completed an approved home-school program or received a GED from the state of Colorado
  • You must apply for financial aid [complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)] and be eligible for a Pell Grant from the federal government
  • You must be an undergraduate student

How To Apply

  • You must be at least 13 years of age to apply
  • You need only apply once
  • You can apply now - you do not need to know what college you will ultimately attend
ApplyNew window icon